Month: December 2020

S2 E15 – I’ll Find Myself When It’s Christmas

I'll Find Myself When I'm Dead
I'll Find Myself When I'm Dead
S2 E15 - I'll Find Myself When It's Christmas
/

In our season finale (really this time), we debrief about season 2, discuss our essayistic Christmas plans–including what books we’re going to buy as gifts–reflect on how much we enjoy interacting with listeners, and do a holiday-themed lightning round. Also, send us your flash submissions and nominations for anthologies! See you in Season 3.

Episode links:

Elena’s cat sweater (sorry, it’s out of stock): https://vipoutlet.com/product/fifth-sun-mens-ugly-christmas-cats-in-lights-with-led-lights-long-sleeve-pullover-sweater-xl-red-60-cotton/ 

Pre-order Justin’s book: http://www.igpub.com/truman-capotes-in-cold-blood-bookmarked/ 

Melissa Faliveno’s TOMBOYLAND: https://www.melissafaliveno.com/tomboyland

Donovan Hohn’s INNER COAST: https://wwnorton.com/books/9781324005971 

Christopher Smart’s “Jubilate Agno,” the cat poem: https://poets.org/poem/jubilate-agno-fragment-b-i-will-consider-my-cat-jeoffry 

Oliver Soden’s book Jeoffry: The Poet’s Cat: http://www.oliversoden.co.uk/jeoffry-the-poets-cat.html 

Matthew Gavin Frank’s forthcoming book, Flight of the Diamond Smugglers: https://wwnorton.com/books/9781631496028 

S2 E14 – Tracy Daugherty

I'll Find Myself When I'm Dead
I'll Find Myself When I'm Dead
S2 E14 - Tracy Daugherty
/

In our Season 2 finale (probably), we welcome our friend Tracy Daugherty, the author of many books of nonfiction and fiction, to discuss his recent books in both genres, as well as a trio of short essays he selected. Also: the Sixties, West Texas, a West Texas cocktail, country music, the return of David Turkel, another mystery guest who stays mostly off-mic, and a lightning round.

Episode links:

Tracy Daugherty’s website: www.tracydaugherty.com 

The three essays we discuss: https://www.dropbox.com/s/uoq5co0vjk4215j/3%20essays%20for%20Podcast.pdf?dl=0 

Tracy’s most recent book, the novella High Skies: https://redhenpress.org/products/high-skies-by-tracy-daugherty

Tracy’s recent nonfiction book, Dante and the Early Astronomer: https://yalebooks.yale.edu/book/9780300239898/dante-and-early-astronomer 

Tracy’s biography of Billy Lee Brammer: https://utpress.utexas.edu/books/daugherty-leaving-the-gay-place 

Tracy’s most recent essay collection, Let Us Build Us a City: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780820350813

Tracy’s bestselling 2017 biography of Joan Didion, The Last Love Song: https://www.powells.com/book/the-last-love-song-9781250105943 

Send us your submissions for Elena’s flash anthology, and your essay nominations for BAE & the Pushcart! We’re at @essaypodcast on Twitter, [email protected], or in the comments section of our website: http://www.essaypodcast.com/contact/

S2 E12 – Best American Essays 2020

I'll Find Myself When I'm Dead
I'll Find Myself When I'm Dead
S2 E12 - Best American Essays 2020
/

In what is probably our penultimate episode of Season 2, we Zoom about the brand-new edition of Best American Essays, edited by our old friend from Season 1, André Aciman. We cover Robert Atwan’s intro, Aciman’s preface, and two selections from the anthology itself: Alex Marzano-Lesnevich’s “Body Language,” and Barbara Ehrenreich’s “The Humanoid Stain.” Also: reader mail, an update on our flash anthology, and we solicit listener suggestions for what essays we should nominate for Best American Essays and the Pushcart Prize.

Episode links:

Alex Marzano-Lesnevich’s essay: https://harpers.org/archive/2019/12/body-language-genderqueerness/

Barbara Ehrenreich’s essay: https://thebaffler.com/salvos/the-humanoid-stain-ehrenreich 

Also, send us your submissions for Elena’s flash anthology, and your essay nominations for BAE & the Pushcart! We’re at @essaypodcast on Twitter, [email protected], or in the comments section of our website: http://www.essaypodcast.com/contact/